How do you ensure that a flash of inspiration does not end up burning you? How far can you actually go before you go over the edge? And how can you give even castles in the air a solid foundation? These are questions for which we have 17 rock-solid answers. In German, English, Spanish, and, if you want, even in legalese. 17 strong personalities with a weakness for good questions.

Dr. Johannes Ahme

The best number? For me, it has to be Euler’s number e, because the exponential function ex  based on it is of outstanding importance for describing temporal developments in physics, electrical engineering, and many other scientific and technical disciplines.

Dr. Bernd Christian Janssen

The most curious patent law? If a cook in ancient Greece invented a new, delicious dish around 700 BC, no one was allowed to make use of the invention within a year – only the cook themself. During this time, the cook took the profits from the dish, and all the other cooks competed to outdo their invention.

Dr. Martin Nohlen

The most interesting cases? For me, those are the ones where we work with clients and colleagues as a team. When working in a true team, you often identify what can give you the edge for an inventive activity: synergies that someone alone wouldn’t be able to create. As well as being successful, this is fun.

Dr. Fabian Müller

How do I start the day? Exercise in the fresh air with my dog. It’s wonderful and good preparation for all the mental activities that will follow throughout the day.

Dr. Alexander Thünken

The most important thing at work? Having fun in your day-to-day work and making sure it stays that way. The legal field of Intellectual Property constantly throws up new and exciting cases with an international connection, in which great scope for argumentation opens up. Also make sure to strike the right work-life balance. What more could you want?

Martin D. Jacob

What is a good idea? A good idea is simple in essence. But a really good idea is when you know how to put it into action.

Dr. Anatol Spork

How do I view the patent system? The patent system gives humankind technical progress, the inventor due recognition, the patent holder a temporary monopoly right for disclosing the invention, and the patent attorney one of the best jobs in the world.

Dr. Hanna Pieper

What fascinates me about the profession of patent attorney? The exciting innovation of science combined with the sober legal mindset.

Dr. Nils Lindenmaier

What do I bring to the table to provide your ideas with the best protection? My capacity as a team player at the interface of technology and law, an eye for your commercial goals, and my enthusiasm for chemistry, life sciences, and related disciplines as a key to your innovations.

Dr. Johannes Heidemann

My greatest inspiration? Nature! You only have to look closely enough to be surprised again and again by its diverse and complex solutions to problems – or simply to be impressed by its beauty.

Wie sorgt man dafür, dass aus einem Geistesblitz kein Donnerwetter wird? Wie weit kann man eigentlich zu weit gehen? Und wie bekommen selbst Luftschlösser ein solides Fundament? Fragen, auf die man bei uns 17 fundierte Antworten bekommt. Auf Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch und, wenn Sie möchten, auch auf Fachchinesisch. 17 starke Persönlichkeiten mit einer Schwäche für gute Fragen.

Dr. Johannes Ahme

Die beste Zahl? Das ist für mich die Eulersche Zahl e, denn die darauf basierende Exponentialfunktion ex ist zur Beschreibung von zeitlichen Entwicklungen in Physik, Elektrotechnik und vielen anderen naturwissenschaftlichen und technischen Disziplinen von überragender Bedeutung.

Dr. Bernd Christian Janssen

Das kurioseste Patentgesetz? Wenn um 700 v. Chr. ein Koch im alten Griechenland ein neues, köstliches Gericht erfand, so durfte niemand innerhalb eines Jahres von der Erfindung Gebrauch machen – nur der Koch selbst. In dieser Zeit trug dieser den geschäftlichen Gewinn davon und alle anderen Köche wetteiferten, um seine Erfindung zu übertreffen.

Dr. Martin Nohlen

Die interessantesten Fälle? Das sind für mich die, bei denen wir mit den Mandanten und Kollegen im Team arbeiten. Denn in einem echten Team erzielt man das, was auch für die erfinderische Tätigkeit oft ausschlag-gebend ist: Synergien, die ein einzelner nicht erreicht. Und das ist dann nicht nur erfolgreich, sondern macht auch Spaß.

Dr. Fabian Müller

Meine erste Tat am Tag? Bewegung an der frischen Luft mit dem Hund. Herrlich und eine gute Vorbereitung für die Denkbewegungen, die im weiteren Verlauf des Tages folgen.

Dr. Alexander Thünken

Das Wichtigste am Job? Spaß an der täglichen Arbeit haben und behalten. Das Rechtsgebiet des Gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes bietet ständig neue und spannende Fälle mit internationalem Bezug, in denen sich tolle Argumentationsspielräume auftun. Außerdem: Die “Work-Life-Balance” stimmt. Was will man mehr?

Martin D. Jacob

Was ist eine gute Idee? Eine gute Idee ist im Kern einfach. Aber eine richtig gute Idee ist, wenn man weiß, wie man sie umsetzen kann.

Dr. Anatol Spork

Meine Sicht auf das Patentwesen? Das Patentwesen gibt der Menschheit technischen Fortschritt, dem Erfinder gebührende Anerkennung, dem Patentinhaber für die Offenlegung der Erfindung ein zeitlich begrenztes Monopolrecht und dem Patentanwalt einen der schönsten Berufe der Welt.

Dr. Hanna Pieper

Was mich an dem Beruf der Patentanwältin fasziniert? Die aufregende Innovation der Wissenschaft kombiniert mit der nüchternen juristischen Denkweise.

Dr. Nils Lindenmaier

Was bringe ich für den bestmöglichen Schutz Ihrer Ideen mit? Meine Eigenschaft als Teamplayer an der Schnittstelle von Technologie und Recht, den Blick für Ihre wirtschaftlichen Ziele und meine Begeisterung für Chemie, Life Sciences und angrenzende Disziplinen als Schlüssel zu Ihren Innovationen.

Dr. Johannes Heidemann

Meine größte Inspiration? Die Natur! Man muss nur genau genug hinschauen, um sich von ihren vielfältigen und komplexen Problemlösungen immer wieder aufs Neue überraschen zu lassen – oder schlicht von ihrer Schönheit beeindruckt zu werden.